Who is God?

Standard

And Jesus said unto them; but Who do ye say that I am? And Peter answered and said unto Him, Thou art the Christ.      (Mark 8:29)

 

To know who God is, one must have a relationship with Him.

I could spend hours telling you of His wondrous works and of His ability to do the impossible,
I could tell you about His three-in-oneness, his omnipotence, omniscience, and omnipresence,

But would you believe it was true?

I could tell you He is called Elohim (Deuteronomy 10:17) – God of gods, and Lord of lords, a great God
I could tell you He is called El Elyon (Genesis 14:18-20) – The most high God
I could tell you He is called El Shaddai (Genesis 49: 24-25) – God almighty – The All–Sufficient One
I could tell you about Jehovah-Jireh (Genesis 22:14) – The Lord who provides
I could tell you about Jehovah-Rapha (Exodus 15:26) – The Lord who heals
I could tell you of Jehovah–Rohi (Psalm 23:1) – The Lord who is my shepherd
I could tell you of Jehovah–Nissi (Exodus 17:15) – The Lord my banner
I could tell you about Jehovah-Sabaoth (Psalm 46:7) – The Lord of hosts

I could tell you about my creator, my father, my comforter and friend
but in the end, all of it would mean nothing unless you know Him for yourself.

But if you know nothing else about God, know this:
He is a God of Love…

He teaches about love (1 Corinthians 13), and it’s not just lip service. He shows us what love is and how we should love. After all He demonstrated His great love for us, by sending His only son to die a death that He did not deserve. He sent His son to take our place, atoning for the sins of all the world; sins that were not yet committed  by persons who were not yet in existence, but God did it all because He loves us with an unconditional love (John 3:16, Ephesians 2:4-9).

His is a love that is everlasting.

For there is no greater love than God’s love – for God is Love (1 John 4:7, 8)

With God as the captain of our relationSHIPS, the storms of mistrust, unfaithfulness, unrequited love, selfishness, thoughtlessness, and miscommunications will never batter our starboards, and He will sail us safely into the harbor of true love and happiness.

 
 

~♥~

Love is the emblem of eternity; it confounds all notion of time;
effaces all memory of a beginning, all fear of an end.
Germaine De Stael

 

With Love,

Ms. B


6 responses »

  1. Pingback: God and goodness « Rubber Tyres –> Smooth Rides

  2. Pingback: All things work together… « GodGuysandGirls

  3. Pingback: Names of God Study Summary « clayhearts

  4. Pingback: Waiting to die « GodGuysandGirls

  5. Pingback: Waiting on God 2 « GodGuysandGirls

Leave a Reply

