Yummy yummy! I want it in my tummy!

Standard

No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it. (1 Corinthians 10:13) 

I love to eat! I love food with bold flavours and various textures. And I love variety in my meals. Therefore, when fitness gurus suggest I eat 5 egg whites for breakfast, for example, I get upset. I know I want abs, but must I give up my cheesecake, cookies and potato chips for carrots, oats and celery sticks? As the headline verse points out, when you are tempted, God will provide a way out! So for your eating pleasure, I present some of the escapes from my “unhealthy” food temptations. 

At La Voute in Archway - highly recommended - ...

I crave: White chocolate

I eat: Dark chocolate

Dark chocolate is a dietary source of polyphenols. With moderate consumption, and as part of a healthy diet,  dark chocolate has been shown to prevent coronary artery disease [1]. Also, when we compare the nutrition facts on Hershey’s BLISS dark chocolate versus their white chocolate, the dark chocolate contains 3g fibre per serving while the white chocolate has none. Here’s to happy hearts and regularity!

I crave: Ice cream

I eat: Low fat frozen yogurt

Sometimes I just have to get that icy, melty, creamy goodness that is ice cream. Well a good substitute is low fat frozen yogurt. The difference between frozen yogurt and ice cream is that the former is made from yogurt while the latter is made from cream. The great thing about yogurt is that it contains probiotics  which are live micro-organisms that are linked to healthy intestines and digestion [2].

I crave: Potato chips

I eat: Mixed nuts

Most potato chips are deep fried. Trans fat from partially hydrogenated oils used for frying increases the risk of coronary heart disease when consumed [3]. Nuts, however are packed with vitamins, minerals, unsaturated fatty acids, fibre and phytochemicals [4]. And it takes A LOT less to satisfy your craving – It’s sooooo easy to eat an entire FAMILY SIZE bag of potato chips! If you’re allergic, you can also try air popped popcorn to satisfy that salt snack craving.

I crave: Cupcakes with icing

I eat: Muffins with fruit

Muffins are the perfect excuse to have a cupcake for breakfast! Choice of muffin is very important though. Try to find (or bake) a muffin made with enriched flour. Also, a muffin baked with fresh fruit is much better than one baked with preserved syrupy concoctions. My favourite guilt free muffin is oatmeal/blueberry closely followed by pumpkin/cinnamon muffins. Pumpkin is an excellent source of Vitamin A [5] and cinnamon plays a role in blood sugar and cholesterol control [6].

I crave: Chicken nuggets

I eat: Baked breaded chicken

Those sneaky trans fats in potato chips are also in those pre-fried chicken nuggets. A healthy yet tasty alternative is baked breaded chicken. I love to use half and half enriched flour and corn flour or corn meal in my breadings, for a beautiful golden colour. There are also recipes using oats or crushed corn flakes for some added fibre. Of course, you should season to taste, because it’s all about quenching that craving with taste!

I crave: Cookies

I eat: Fruit and yogurt

Oooh I love cookies! And even though fruit does not taste quite the same way, I usually forget about the cookies when I chow down into some yogurt with fresh fruit. Fresh fruit is packed with vitamins and depending on the type, are a good source of fibre. Often I would make a fruit smoothie with yogurt, juice and whatever fruits I have available. My favourite combos are strawberry yogurt, bananas and V8 Pomegranate Blueberry Juice, and paw paw (papaya), bananas, plain yogurt and Orchard Tropical Punch.

And finally….

I crave: Cheesecake

I eat: Cheesecake

There is no substitute for cheesecake – my all-time favourite indulgence. Sometimes you just have to relax and have a slice!

Happy eating!

Angie

References

[1] European Journal of Internal Medicine 23 (2012) 15-25.

[2] “probiotics”  A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition. Ed. David A. Bender. Oxford University Press 2009. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.  Accessed 15 March 2012

[3] Journal of the American Dietetic Association 105 (2005) 1927-1932.

[4] Proceedings of World Academy of Science, Engineering and Technology 81 (2011) 508-512.

[5] SELF Nutrition Data http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/vegetables-and-vegetable-products/2601/2. Accessed 15 March 2012.

[6] “Defeating Diabetes” in Food Technology Nov. 2009, Vol. 63, No. 11.

One response »

Leave a Reply

