Lessons from Tupperware

Standard

I like to cook and I love to share. When I give out food to my friends, I usually give them in those plastic storage containers with lids. But do you know there are some people that will NEVER return your containers… and be so  brazen as to bring their lunch to work in them!
Of course, now I know who to trust with my expensive containers (you know the nice leak proof ones with lids that actually fit) and I know who  gets the cheap knock-offs that I’m okay with never seeing again.

I wish I knew earlier to share my self like I do my Tupperware…

A Small tupperware container.

Be careful who you share your secrets with.

Samson was a leader of the Israelites and a fierce warrior. Unfortunately he “fell in love” with a woman named Delilah and told her the secret of his great strength. The funny thing is he lied to her twice before telling her the truth and he knew she tried to trap him both times. In the end, Samson paid for his indiscretion with his life. (Judges 16) These days a shared secret may not get you killed (depends on what kind of secret) but it can get you a ruined reputation or a lost friendship.

Be careful who you share your dreams with.

Joseph was the favourite of the 12 sons of Israel (Jacob). For this reason his brothers hated him. So when he shared his dream with them they hated him even more:

6 He said to them, “Listen to this dream I had: 7 We were binding sheaves of grain out in the field when suddenly my sheaf rose and stood upright, while your sheaves gathered around mine and bowed down to it.” (Gen 37:6-7.)

Later in verse 11 we read “His brothers were jealous of him, but his father kept the matter in mind.”

Joseph ended up sold into slavery by his brothers. The interesting thing about this story is that in the end Joseph ends up in charge of Egypt (Gen 41:41) and due to famine his brothers had to come to him for food for their family. God had made him the lord of all Egypt despite the actions of his brothers.

So when I wrote the subheading, I didn’t literally mean dreams but ambitions and plans. Once you’ve prayed over your plans, and God has given every sign of approval, be careful who you share them with. Some people spitefully create stumbling blocks, like Joseph’s brothers, and others, like Joseph’s father, will keep the matter in mind knowing anything is possible through Christ. The lesson in this tale though is that what may seem like a stumbling block could be the mountain path to your dream but it isn’t always so.

Be careful who you share your thoughts with.

This should really read “be careful who shares their thoughts with you”. It’s so important not to let the wrong people get into your head. This is especially important if you are in a uber-competitive situation for e.g. grad school. I can certainly testify to this. I have had more rejection letters in my short time in grad school than my whole life. This hasn’t stopped me from knowing God has blessed me with intelligence, the ability to work hard and a bright future in store. This concept is most succinctly put in Proverbs 23:7 For as he thinks in his heart, so is he. Don’t let others put a value on you. Think about yourself as God thinks on you: He loved you enough to send His Son to die for you. (John 3:16)

Be careful who you share your body with.

I already wrote about your body being a temple (1 Cor 6:19-20) from a health and fitness perspective in Sweat it out! What I haven’t touched on is how you share your body with others. “No” is a very powerful word and when qualified is very effective.

If you’ve put in so much time at work as to compromise your health, let your supervisor know – “No, I cannot work this weekend because I need to rest. My productivity has declined and I can do a better job when I have recovered”.

If a guy friend has asked you to “put a good word” in with a girl he would like to get involved with, and you know he is a womanizer, you can say “No, I don’t think you guys are compatible and I would hate to see either of you get hurt”.

If your girlfriend thinks you guys have been together for awhile and it’s time to move to another level, you can say “No, I believe that God has made sex for marriage and I would rather respect and love you by not defiling your body.”

Who would have thought God could allow an experience with storage containers to inspire so many thoughts! Remember, treat yourself like the expensive, leak proof kind and not the cheap knock off because we are all paid for dearly!

God bless you,

Angie

One response »

  1. Pingback: Keeping New Year Resolutions « GodGuysandGirls

Leave a Reply

