Negative vibes

Standard

Last week, while I was working out, my mind wandered  (as it often does these days) about my status at graduate school…

My supervisor is very challenging to work with, I am not excited about my research, I have been rejected for every academic award I have ever applied for in the past 4 years, and there have been days where I have considered quitting my Ph.D. program altogether.

As I  refocussed  on my  bench press set, I surprised myself with how much more than usual that I could lift. My self-proclaimed superhuman feat made sense when I remembered that I did a set of negatives the week before.

In Amp up your workout! I touched briefly on the idea, but as a reminder, negatives are reps where you focus on the lowering part of a muscle contraction (e.g. the lowering movement in a push up or pull up).

Typically, negatives:

  1. require a spotter to help on the positive movement,
  2. are done with more weight than a regular repetition, and
  3. take discipline and focus as you perform the negative movement slowly and carefully.
Suddenly I had an epiphany…

White space

God is my spotter, these trials are more negatives than I’m used to, and  with discipline and focus I can handle more in the future!

White space

I felt like God spoke to me that day. And it’s not as if He didn’t tell me before…
 White space

2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. (James 1:2-4)

 White space
…and furthermore it’s not as if I didn’t write on the topic of trials recently (God’s trial or my trial?).
White space 
I was so thankful God got me thinking again about how I am handling my “negatives” outside of the gym. In fact, I’m pleased to announce that this week I found out I was awarded an academic fellowship for my next academic year!
How great is our God and His impecable timing! He is definitely my #1 spotter!
White space

Blessings and negative vibes,

Angie

One response »

  1. Pingback: Negativity is labeling ANYTHING “negative” « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

Leave a Reply

