Sooooo busy!

Standard

First, I want to say a huge

THANK YOU

to everyone who continued reading while we weren’t writing. Also, welcome to the new subscribers and don’t forget to share with others.

I travelled a lot in May and was super busy. During that spell of non-stop action, two things came to mind (well actually many things came to mind, my mind was all crazy and junk but I digress…)

1. It’s so easy to fall into the trap of being “too busy” for God, and

2. Hotels always boast of “fully equipped gyms” and this usually translates to an uninviting, musty room with 2 dumbbells, a squeaky treadmill and a stationary bike.

English: Personal bible study Português: Estud...

space

How are these even related?

Well, they are definitely not equated. Time worshipping or speaking with God is way more important than any workout. After all, the strength for that extra set is only by God’s will. But they are related. When I was travelling and working with tight deadlines and long days, it was so easy to say shorter prayers and skip workouts.

On the first day at the hotel, I woke up early and read a Bible chapter (thank you Gideon’s!) and that night I ran a moderate 2 miles.  By the third day I was struggling to wake up in time to make it to meetings and would only say a quick prayer and skip my workout all together. Needless to say, by the time the week was over and I was back home, I felt out of sorts physically and spiritually. I missed God, I missed being in His presence. And I also felt very “fat”.

space

There is a lesson in the Bible about this:

38 Now it happened as they went that He entered a certain village; and a certain woman named Martha welcomed Him into her house. 39 And she had a sister called Mary, who also sat at Jesus’ feet and heard His word. 40 But Martha was distracted with much serving, and she approached Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Therefore tell her to help me.” 41 And Jesus answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. 42 But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:38-32

space

I was a Martha.

I didn’t choose the good part. I chose to worry about crazy target dates, hectic schedules and travel plans. I must say, I thank God that, despite my scant attention to Him, He did not forsake me. Everything worked out, I travelled safely, my trip goals were satisfied. But  that guilt I felt afterwards was a lesson from God that I needed – You should never be too busy to be in God’s presence. Nothing is more important than that daily communion with His Word!

Now switching gears to my missed workouts. Yes, I felt pretty lethargic and bloated after a week of eating out, long working days and no physical exercise. I got back in to my groove pretty quickly though, and in retrospect, I did not feel too badly about skipping an hour in that stuffy hotel fitness centre!

Cheers,

Angie

More on this topic
“Hello. My name is Martha.” (orangesatmidnight.wordpress.com)
Letting Go of Busyness (jesuszen.com)
I Choose Jesus (leadherblog.com)

2 responses »

  1. hm, this is such an awesome reminder about what should really be priority. I felt convicted and I appreciate the comparisons that were made.

    • Thanks again for reading! Yes, I definitely needed that reminder… life so often seems to get away from us and we forget what’s truly a priority!

Leave a Reply

