On diets and derrieres part 1

Standard

It’s been too long since I’ve blogged in this space. A new school semester began which really sucked away at my dedicated writing time. Not to mention the change in weather messed with me. Can you imagine I caught two colds within the space of three weeks! (I personally blame the people in public transport who NEVER COVER THEIR MOUTHS when they cough, sneeze and wheeze! Ugh)

A cupcake from Crumbs.

Anyway, so straight to the point. I don’t believe in fad diets. I love food too much to restrict myself. However, this semester I did modify my diet somewhat. The only investment was a set of measuring cups and an eye on the clock!

Here’s the general idea:

  • Eat every 3 hours
  • Each meal is no more than 1 cup of carbs, 1/2 cup protein and unlimited veges (I used 1/2 cup, usually raw veges).
  • Additionally I had water with lunch or 1 cup juice (no refills) with dinner. Water can be had any time (stay hydrated!)
  • Dessert is only allowed once a day (if at all) and can only be 1 serving (e.g. 1 cupcake or 1 bite size chocolate or 2-3 small cookies).
  • And as usual I took my multivitamin

So it sounds simple enough.

The hardest parts for me were planning and putting out meals especially for long days at work, and resisting that extra cookie! I found it easiest to prepare a huge salad bowl with pre-cut veggies (e.g. baby carrots, a sliced sweet pepper, sliced mushrooms, whole kernel corn) and just grab a half cup of those. To make it interesting,my first lunch would be rice with the above veggies and whatever meat and my second lunch will be a pita with the same veggies and meat. The point is to not bore your tastebuds out of keeping this up. If you do try measuring your food, you will probably be amazed at how much you have overestimated what a serving is supposed to be!

The best part for me is that by not even changing my exercise levels (in fact I generally exercised less because I had the cold for half of the time), I lost 3 lbs (that consistently stayed off for 3 weeks already)! Another benefit is that I was never hungry/starving or  sleepy after eating (which really helped with productivity at work). I’ll share a typical day’s meal plan in Part 2 of this post.

~*~

The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things

So my trouble spot (like many women) is my butt and thighs. I’ve really seen improvement in the shape of my legs and thighs with squats and other exercises mentioned here but the cellulite on my butt is pretty persistent! My friend and gym buddy suggested that I do more single-legged exercises. So I started doing single-legged squats, single-legged leg press and also some work on the abductor machine. I must say my butt shape has improved and lifted since concentrating on one leg at a time (my jeans look hot if I may say so myself). I also can concentrate on the target muscles more effectively when I exercise the legs individually. I’ll update you on the state of my cellulite in a month or so of doing the single-legged varieties but in the mean time I’ve posted a few video demonstrations on some of these exercises.

Single leg body weight squat (I’ve been doing the “deep squat” version and the first time was a bit embarrassing trying to maintain my balance)

Single-leg barbell squat (if you are comfortable with using barbells)

Look out for part 2 this weekend and keep at it,

Angie

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: On diets and derrieres part 2 « GodGuysandGirls

  2. Pingback: Eat less sugar… you’re sweet enough already « GodGuysandGirls

Leave a Reply

