Cookie recipes

Standard

Cookie monster!

So I promised to share a couple of recipes, and what’s better than cookies to start. I personally like soft, cakey cookies over crunchy ones. But often I can’t just stop at one, so I was on the hunt for a guilt-free cookie recipe. However, I do admit that there are days when I just want a decadent, rich, satisfying cookie where eating a second cookie is almost insulting to the first. And I’ve got a recipe for that too. Without further ado….

Guilt-free oatmeal cookies

For 12 cookies you will need:

  • 1/4 cup butter (I used Becel olive oil margarine because that’s what I had)
  • 8g Splenda
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp strawberry yogurt (you can use any flavour really)
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon all spice (or cinnamon)

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line your baking sheets with parchment paper or use a non-stick sheet pan with a little non-stick spray. Beat* butter, Splenda and eggs in one bowl. Add oatmeal, whole wheat flour, baking soda, salt, and all spice. Drop by spoonfuls onto greased cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes.

These cookies are not bad when you need a quick cookie fix. I threw these ingredients together some day that I was bored so the recipe is far from optimum. For example, they don’t flatten out like cookies should, but remain as drops.

Mac-cran-chip cookies

Adapted from a recipe at Epicurious

For about 30 medium cookies you will need:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup butter (again I used Becel olive oil margarine because that’s what I had)
  • 3/4 cup golden brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups dried cranberries
  • 1 1/2 cups white chocolate chips
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped roasted salted macadamia nuts

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line your baking sheets with parchment paper. Combine the flour and baking soda in one bowl and set aside. Beat* the butter in a large bowl until soft. Beat the sugar into the butter, then the eggs (one at a time) and finally the vanilla. Add the dry ingredients and beat just until blended. Stir in the cranberries, white chocolate chips, and nuts. Drop the dough, one tablespoon at a time onto the parchment leaving at least 1 1/2 inches between spoonfuls. Bake for 12-15 minutes (brown edges).

The cool thing about this recipe is that you can do endless substitutions: whole wheat flour for white flour, apple sauce/mashed bananas for butter and some of the sugar, any other dried fruit for dried cranberries, any other  nuts for macadamia nuts (which are pretty expensive), or any other chips instead of white choc. chips. I imagine dried cranberries with chopped pecans, no chips, and some citrus zest would be ah-maze-ing!

* A note on beating: I don’t actually own an electric beater (I just never got around to buying one). So I did all the beating by hand. This also makes the cookies like a reward for all that exercise that went into making them (LOL)! The trick is to beat until the batter is all the same consistency. Also since we use raw eggs, I would advise you not to eat the raw dough!

In the comments, let me know any variations you tried and/or suggestions for substitutions!

Blessings flow,

Angie

3 responses »

    • First, thanks for reading! The first recipe is far from optimized and turns out like drops more than cookies, and the second was adapted slightly from someone else so I would feel like cheating if I entered! LOL. But thank you for sharing!

  1. Pingback: Eat less sugar… you’re sweet enough already « GodGuysandGirls

Leave a Reply

