A Prayer for Fasting

Standard

Dear Lord and Father,

I know you have plans for me because you have shown this in Jeremiah 29:11. I know Your plan will give me a hope and a future.

I pray that  you will help me to follow the example of Job – to be patient in the face of suffering and that through the testing of my faith and subsequent perseverance, that I will be more mature and complete as you promised in James 1:2-4.

Lord, I also pray that this fast could increase my faith and connection with you. That I will do it without complaint. That I will set my heart on heavenly things (Colossians 3:2). Lord, I pray that I will not be anxious about the future you have already promised and that I will continue in prayer, petition and thanksgiving as outlined in Phillipians 4:6. Lord help me to work at everything with all my heart (Colossians 3:23) because it is to your glory and not for men. Also, Lord help me to be always joyful and giving thanks in all circumstances (1 Thessalonians 5:16) and to set examples through speech , life, love, faith and purity (1 Timothy 4:12). So Lord I offer you this prayer in faith that Your will is best for me regardless of what I want. It is only by your mercy and not my “righteousness” that I am blessed. Thank you for all things. Through your son, Jesus Christ.

Amen.

Also see: The Christian Fast

One response »

  1. Pingback: The Christian fast « GodGuysandGirls

Leave a Reply

