Waiting to die

Standard

a hospital room (Denmark, 2005)

He’s so happy. Why is he so happy. He’s about to die.

This was the third time this week that I came to see him. He asked me to bring his assignments from class. It wouldn’t matter anyway. He would be due before they were. But he insisted, so I obliged. You would do anything for a dying man.

“What’s up buddy?” I drop the handouts on his hospital bed.
“Hey man, I had the best day! Remember that hot nurse, Mindy? She fluffed my pillows.” He smiled mischievously and continued. “And we got strawberry jello today. It’s about time. It’s been two weeks of lime… Ha ha I rhymed!”

How could he keep his stupid sense of humor at a time like this. Can’t he see he’s dying?

“How was chem today? That’s one thing I don’t miss… the droning about orbitals and nodes”. We had stopped talking about orbitals more than a month ago, but I let him go on. “Without the labs, I think I’m gonna fail that course. Chem is so pointless…”

I couldn’t take it anymore. Weeks of pent up emotions flew out of me.

“Dammit man! This is pointless! You’re gonna die!”

I felt a tightness in my throat and a stinging in my eyes. He was unmoved, and calm. It made me even more irritated. Slow seconds passed until he responded.

“Yes. I am gonna die…. But then I’m gonna live.” He paused. “I wasn’t kidding bout that Jesus stuff. He’s the way man. He’s my Peace. He’s my Saviour. This isn’t the end… ”

His voice got quiet. I could see a flicker of pain before he smiled.

“I don’t want to be sick, but I am. I don’t know why God gave me this lot, but He did. He also gave me a family that loves me, a roof over my head, friends I would die for… if I wasn’t going to die.” He smiled a bit then.
“If my sickness is a way for you to accept Christ, I’ll take it… ’cause I love you man… no homo.”

I genuinely laughed, then sighed.

“So this Jesus guy is for real, huh?”

“That’s what I’m saying man… Let me tell you a story…”

Hey guys, so this is my second try at fiction. I hope you liked it! If you missed my first story “The Invitation”, you can find it here. Other posts that may interest you are Who is God?, Dealing with death and YOLO – You only live once.

God bless,

Angie

… “I am the way and the truth and the life.
No one comes to the Father except through me. ~ John 14:6

One response »

  1. Pingback: Finding Nemo « GodGuysandGirls

Leave a Reply

