A prayer for a crisis of faith

Standard

English: David's Joy Over Forgiveness; as in P...

Have you ever been at the depths of despair and everyone offers pacifying statements like It will be okay or Don’t worry? Well, I usually feel better at that moment, but then later when I’m alone and start thinking again about what’s upsetting me, the peace I felt earlier dissipates.

Today, I decided to write a Bible-based prayer and meditate on it every time I felt an inkling of sadness. So when my mind drifted back to my problems, I whipped it out of my pocket and read it through once. So far today I’ve probably read it about 7 times. However, today was THE BEST I have felt for an entire month.

The epiphany I received today was that the hurt I was feeling for the past few weeks was based on doubt! I doubted that God could possibly turn so much pain into a positive. I let Satan plant a seed of depression in my heart instead of letting God plant joy and peace. I am so happy that I realized this before I caused irreversible damage to my relationships or became dysfunctional. So without further ado, here is my prayer:

Dear Lord

May your unfailing love be my comfort (Psalm 119:76)

Help me to hide your word in my heart so that I will not sin against you. (Psalm 119:11)

Help me to abandon this path of depression, vengeance and fear, and turn my steps to your statutes..(Psalm 119: 58-60)

For you have asked me simply to be joyful in hope, patient in affliction and faithful in prayer, and I have failed on all three accounts. (Romans 12:12)

Help me to meditate on your word and not on the things of the world. (Psalm 119:78)

Help me not to be anxious, and to remain prayerful and thankful as I wait on you. (Philippians 4:6)

Lord, help me not to try to reason or overthink this situation and to just trust you. (Proverbs 3:5-6)

Help me to remember to stay strong, courageous and fearless because you will never forsake me. (Deuteronomy 31:6)

Help me not to worry about tomorrow. (Matthew 6:34)

Help me to continue to love as you intended, with patience, without jealousy, without anger, and with trust. (1 Corinthians 13:4-7)

Help me to never stop thanking you for your love that endures forever. (Psalm 107:1, 136:26)

Help me to love you back by obeying your words and believing your words. (John 14:21-24)

Help me to remember that I can never be separated from your steadfast love. (Romans 8:37-39)

And that all your plans are good and beneficial. (Jeremiah 29:11)

I pray all these things in Jesus’ name

Amen

Leave a Reply

