Banish depressing thoughts

Standard

Has anyone ever told you you when you were depressed to write out how you are feeling? I tried that and ended up with a tear-soaked page that I just wanted to rip to shreds when I was done. Today I tried something different (Thanks Ms. B for the suggestion).

Get your pen and paper and write 20 things that you should be thankful for right now. It could be anything… don’t take anything for granted.

I tried this today and felt instantly better. I wasn’t even disappointed that I was far from my target of 20 things. The point is that now my mind and heart are dwelling on joyful things instead of depressing things. I dare you to try it, feed your joy!

Sing unto the Lord, O ye His saints, and give thanks at the remembrance of His holiness. For His anger endureth but a moment, and in His favor is life; weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning. – Psalm 30:4-5

Cheers,

Angie

3 responses »

  1. My grandmother used to tell us to ‘count our blessings.’ She even had a song about it. I remembered this when I read a book that said one of the keys to happiness was having an attitude of appreciation.

    • If I’m not mistaken I might know that song or one like it! An attitude of appreciation definitely made a huge difference in my happiness levels today. In fact, I have realized that your attitude usually determines how well you handle many situations or circumstances. Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. Pingback: A study of Philippians 4:6-7 « GodGuysandGirls

Leave a Reply

