Give your brain a break!

Standard

Hey everyone,

It’s been awhile since I’ve written. I haven’t been particularly inspired these days to write, and I would rather the Spirit move me than I just write something random that comes to mind.

hero

Today I just wanted to share this excerpt from a book I’ve been reading: Trusting God day by day (365 daily devotions) by Joyce Meyer. I only picked up this devotional last week, so I’ve been catching up in January while reading the regular daily messages for February. I’m so glad I picked this book up though! (I fully intended to buy a particular sci-fi novel but the store did not have it and I did not want to leave empty-handed.)

Here’s the excerpt from January 31st – Give your Brain a Break

“As we grow spiritually, we have to remind ourselves over and over again to: cast our cares on God, be anxious for nothing; trust Him in every situation. As we are diligent to do these things, we find ourselves resting in the Lord more and more, and that is where we find peace, clarity, wisdom and the strength to face each day.”

I myself have been struggling a bit with completely  trusting God. It’s easy to trust God when everything is great in life, but a lot harder when things are not working out like you thought they would! I hope these words encouraged you as much as or more than they encouraged me. I especially like how the devotional says that we should “remind ourselves over and over again”. It really mirrors Apostle Peter’s address in 2 Peter 1:12-15 – he emphasizes that he knows that the recipients of the letter know what the Christian virtues are (vs 5-8) but feels it is his duty to keep reminding them over and over so that the knowledge remains fresh in their minds. It’s so important for us to keep repeating the truth over and over especially when we feel like our trust and faith in God is waning.

Birthday cake

Finally, this blog turned 1 on Valentine’s Day. I’d like to thank all those who subscribed over the past year, and all those who just passed through, all those that read our posts religiously and all those that couldn’t pass sentence one, all those that commented or shared and all those that checked out our page on Facebook. We appreciate every one of you!

Lots of love,

Angie

P.S. Here’s the associated scripture to meditate on.

1Peter 5:7 Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

Philippians 4:6-7  Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Proverbs 3:5-6  Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

Hebrews 6:11-12  11 And we desire that every one of you do shew the same diligence to the full assurance of hope unto the end: 12 That ye be not slothful, but followers of them who through faith and patience inherit the promises.

Hebrews 4:9-11 There remaineth therefore a rest to the people of God.10 For he that is entered into his rest, he also hath ceased from his own works, as God did from his.11 Let us labour therefore to enter into that rest, lest any man fall after the same example of unbelief.

Leave a Reply

