My testimony

Standard

My blogging friend, Robin over at “A Christian Overcomer“, recently asked me to share my testimony for her blog page. I never really gave much thought to how I came to accept Christ as my Saviour. I have always heard awe-inspiring stories of former drug addicts, prostitutes, alcoholics, abusers and abuse survivors, accident survivors, and the list goes on. The theme was that something really challenging in your life brought you to understand that you need God. Well, that wasn’t me. I had no “story”.

However, I’ve been thinking about my life off-and-on since Robin asked me for a testimony. I grew up in a Christian home, I accepted Christ as my Lord and Saviour at a very young age while at a Bible camp. My parents were married and together and owned their own house. My brothers and sister treated me well enough (sibling rivalries existed but it was all in good spirit). I never went to bed hungry. I did well in school and went to a prestigious school. My tertiary education was free. I had time for co-curricular activities and made a lot of friends as a result. Yes, an immediate family member died in a car accident, but my family is all the more closer for it.

The point I am making is that my testimony is that God protected me from a challenging life. So Robin, this post is for you. I hope anyone out there who feels that they have no testimony because they did not have a dramatic turn around, realizes that they do!

Love,

Angie

2 responses »

  1. Hi Angie,
    Hey! We all go through “life” getting bruised in various ways. When your family member died in the car wreck how did your faith get you through it. Have you ever been rejected by anyone? How did your relationship with God get you through it? I believe we are all of us put through times of testing in some way or another. You became a Christian at a very young age which is wonderful. That does not mean that you don’t have a great testimony about getting through your storms in life with Jesus at your side to hold you up.
    love to you dear sister,
    robin

    • You’re absolutely right Robin! I do have lots of testimonies of getting through tough times but this was just my simple testimony on becoming a Christian. Thank YOU for inspiring me to write about it!

Leave a Reply

